Waffles Anyone??

Today half of my heart will be in Africa.  Well technically tomorrow, but it starts today.  My husband, Evan, is on his way to Cape Town, South Africa as we speak.  I just talked to him and he was getting ready to board his plane which takes off very soon.  He is on a mission trip with our church and will be in South Africa tomorrow.

His 30 pound suitcase holds enough clothing for 10 days and some random snacks.  We weren’t sure about the food there so we packed some beef jerky and granola bars.  We also put in some tylenol PM for the long plane ride in case he wasn’t able to sleep, benadryl in case of an allergic reaction and some meds for anything upsetting his stomach.  You have to be prepared, you know!  I also snuck some pictures of our little guy in his books and his bible so he has a little surprise while he’s reading.

Last night it finally hit me that he would be gone for 10 days on the other side of the world.  I tried to do a quick search on how many miles away Cape Town is but I wasn’t able to find it but this map (thank you Google Maps) shows it clearly.

I have been praying for his trip and of course I’m praying for safety, courage, a good trip, lost people to be saved, etc.  I also wanted to pray for specific things each day depending on what they have scheduled each day.  Each day, I’ll list what I’m praying for each day and you can pray along if you’d like.

2/2 (Today)  Rest.  Evan will be switching flights multiple times as he goes and encountering many people.  I pray that he is able to find some quiet time and rest so that he will be ready to begin working when they finally make it to South Africa.

Mark 6:31 says, “Then, because so many people were coming and going that they did not even have a chance to eat, he said to them,“Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.”

So… why waffles?  Well, to keep me busy I decided I’d make waffles today.  Jack and I loved them!!

I did cheat and just used a mix but they were still tasty!!  Have a great day!

Cassi

P.S…  was this post too long?  Too many pictures, not enough?  Let me know so I don’t bore you to death!

About Wonderfully Made

I am Evan's wife and Jackson's mom. I am a lover of all cooking, sewing, and crafting. I love learning new things and showing others how to do it as well. I am a follower of Jesus Christ and so thankful he died to cover my sins.

15 responses to “Waffles Anyone??

  1. Tiffany Blankenship

    Love this Blog Cass! I will be praying for Evan too, that is such an amazing opportunity!!

  2. Carolyn Moncrief

    Cassi- Perfect!! Thanks

  3. Lynn Stice

    The post was great! Not to long or to short and the pictures are great. I will be praying with you. I really enjoy your blog.

  4. Kelsey Friend

    Jack looks like he’s enjoying those waffles. 😉

  5. Tasha Hamlet

    Thanks for the update on Evan! I will pray for a safe trip there and back!

  6. Joyce Krewson

    Cassi, Love your Blog, praying for Evan and all of the group for safety and the many people they will witness to.

  7. Girl I am loving’ the blog. I have to admit I got a new waffle iron for Christmas, so I am always looking for fun recipes. My favorite idea so far is canned cinnamon rolls in the iron and oh how simple but they make you look like the next great chef. Have a great weekend, we will be praying for your family.

  8. Jasonizzle

    Thats only like 6 inches away Cassi. Give Evan some space!

Leave a Reply

