Valentine’s Day Can’t Come too Late!

Finally, a date night!  Evan and I have only went on a handful of dates since little Jackson was born but last night we were able to celebrate our valentines day with dinner and  a movie.  We took a long awaited trip to Rolla and watched This Means War with my favorite actress Reese Witherspoon!  We had dinner at Gordo’s and looked at the reviews of the movie while we were waiting for our dinner.  The critics only gave it 25%.  I knew I’d love it but Evan was a little skeptical!  Well they were completely wrong!  I absolutely loved it!  And Evan really liked it too.  He laughed a lot and that’s how I know he likes a movie.  So thank you MeMaw for babysitting and letting us enjoy a few hours to ourselves.

Speaking of Valentines day, if you have husbands like mine, finding a valentines day gift is very stressful and unless you choose something your self, you’re probably not getting anything.  Not that you have to have an elaborate gift but a little something is nice to show that you’re still appreciated.  Jokingly,  I said,  “Can you belive Christy forgot to deliver my flowers today?!”  We both cracked up over that one, because we all know that Evan didn’t send me any!  Christy is the owner of Woody’s Flowers and is an excellent florist.  I like to give gifts that the person will actually use and enjoy.  I bought Evan a coffee grinder this year with some Starbucks coffee.  (Technically he bought it for himself since I’m a stay at home mama, haha, but he never said a word.)  He has used it every single day since Valentine’s day.  Success!!  Only ever so often does this happen, unless I get him boxers or deodorant or something so obvious.  So what did I get?  I bought myself (technically he bought it) a glass mixer bowl for my Kitchenaid mixer.  I haven’t used it yet but it looks pretty on my counter!  Martha Stewart has been using her new bowl on this new season.  If Martha has it, I need it!!

So I hope you all had a great valentines day!  And if you didn’t get just what you wanted try focusing on the other person in your life and really want to get them that special something that they will enjoy instead of what you didn’t get.  And then go out and get it yourself!  Your hubby might actually thank you!

About theblackberrypatch

I am Evan's wife and Jackson's mom. I am a lover of all cooking, sewing, and crafting. I love learning new things and showing others how to do it as well. I am a follower of Jesus Christ and so thankful he died to cover my sins.

2 responses to “Valentine’s Day Can’t Come too Late!

  1. The boyfriend Quentin bought me a bathroom scale. 😀 He wanted to take me on a weekend away but instead I asked for a nook tablet but decided against it later. Then I asked for a juicer, but got one for free from a family member. Finally I came up with the fact that I needed a bathroom scale so he bought me a nice one. Oh, and today we added an ADORABLE whale can opener. http://shopping.yahoo.com/771888641-auto-orca-safety-lidlifter/
    But it is fun to tell people that my boyfriend didn’t get me chocolates or roses, he got me a bathroom scale.

Leave a Reply

