Too Many Toys?

I was that pregnant mom who said I will not have this many toys laying around my  house!  Well, I AM!!  Three huge tubs of toys and I’m going crazy!  I am blessed to have some organizing queens as sister-in-laws.  They both give me tons of ideas, advice and encouragement.  So we are supposed to be out of our house by March 4th I am beginning my toy organization here so that when we get into our new house it should be a lot easier.  These tubs have been sitting by the toys for over 2 weeks.  I had this preconceived idea that they had to be organized by name brand, type, color, etc.  That’s a bit exaggerated but I just didn’t know which toys should go in which tub.  What if when I get one box out Jack doesn’t have the toy he wants.  WHO CARES?!  Just put them somewhere!  So, today, two weeks later, I am putting them in tubs.  There’s no way to organize 50 million toys, so I just started putting them in.  If I had 3 balls, I put one in each.  Same with cars.  Now they are going out to the garage today so that Jack doesn’t keep taking things out.

The second picture is books.  Now I don’t know if a child can have too many books but they can become just as overwhelming as tons of toys.  So this has been my week, boxing up stuff and taking it to the garage.  Thankfully our basement is cleaned out at the new house so I’ve been moving stuff over.  My goal is to have as much as possible already over there by the end of this week and have all next week to move furniture and bigger things.  So I just wanted to check in with you all and let you know that this is why I’ve been gone lately.  I probably shouldn’t have started a blog during a remodel!

Let me know what you do with your toys and books.  How do you stay organized?  I still feel pretty new to this staying at home thing.  I don’t really have a routine yet and that’s something I’m working on.  I don’t stay home as much as I should and I think that’s to avoid having to clean and organize.  So if you have any tips or suggestions, let me know!

Jack is such a good model.  Half of the job is keeping them in the tub.  He sees one through the side and starts digging to get it!

These are with my little point and shoot camera so the quality isn’t too great.  Sorry about that!

He should be a genius with all these books!!

Have a great day!

About Wonderfully Made

I am Evan's wife and Jackson's mom. I am a lover of all cooking, sewing, and crafting. I love learning new things and showing others how to do it as well. I am a follower of Jesus Christ and so thankful he died to cover my sins.

5 responses to “Too Many Toys?

  1. Lauren

    Just wait Cassi! You’ll just keep getting more and more. I just got a garbage bag of toys to donate from Callum’s room. In his room I put all his blocks and specific toys up in his closet, and the rule is that he has to have a clean room before he can play with them, and then, he has to clean them up. As far as Caelin goes, she doesn’t have a TON of toys, but she does have a hand me down kitchen with too much food, so that is a mess. The rule in my house is that by 4pm or so all the toys have to be back in the bedrooms, and the kids can go play in there, so Dad gets to come home to a clean house. I pretty much do what you did with the bins, but two giant ones….one for stuffed/soft toys, and one for the rest. I think you’re on the right track!

  2. Kelsey Friend

    You can never have too many books!! 😉

  3. Taylea

    I do something simular with Eli’s toys. He has so many toys, and we have such limited space with 6 people living in a small 3 bedroom house! I try to rotate his toys so I don’t have to keep all of his toys in his room, and he doesn’t get borred with his toys eather. When I bring out a new tote he thinks he got new toys, but really he has had them all along!

  4. you will find your nich with the toys and the books One good thing as youu get more toys you can put some up and bring out new ones when hes board. It is hard to stay organized because Jack will jump to one toy to the next. You will fill that you are picking up toys all the time. You are such a good mom.

  5. Leah

    You probably saw when I posted this on Facebook but will share just in case you didn’t
    When our children were smaller we would have 3 boxes of toys, 2 in storage and 1 for them to play with. Before a birthday or Christmas is a good time to take a storage box to put thier toys in that you want to keep, throw away all broken or not so nice toys, donate the ones they have outgrown or seldom play with but are still good. Then several months later when their toys got boring for them I’d get them to help gather up their toys with the promise when they are all gathered and sorted we’d get 1 of the boxes out of storage. They weren’t losing their toys, just saving them for later. It is so exciting for them to again get to play with the old toys. Children love the change, it’s almost like opening gifts. Of course there are those several special toys that always get to stay. I used to exchange and sort toys about 4 times a year. This way there aren’t near as many toys underfoot and much quicker and easier to clean up. They are just as happy with a box full of toys as a room full.
    Also I go through the closets and drawers every spring and fall and get rid of the outgrown, old or unused clothes. If you haven’t used it in a year you probably will never use it. Why have more clothes then you actually use? It’s clutter and just makes it hard to find what you need. The same goes for all your other stuff you have accumulated. Do you really need/use all this stuff.

Leave a Reply

