Do you ever fee…

Do you ever feel like your life is total chaos?  I don’t know if it’s my personality or if I’m really one of those people who never seem to have it all together.  I haven’t been as honest with you as I should have been!  I have kept a lot of “me” from you.  To a certain degree I do think that’s important.  You don’t want to know every detail of my life… believe me!  Anyway,  let me start this blog again…

Hey there!  I’m Cassi.  A wife to Evan, mother to Jackson plus one!  (Yes having baby number two in January 2013!!)  I’m totally unorganized, hate laundry and cleaning with a passion, always late, and definitely do not like grocery shopping!!  So, this blog will be me sharing with you about how I will become organized….very slowly; begin to get “Mount Washmore” and my house in order (thanks FLY lady! who you will definitely hear about soon!) I will begin to be on time and maybe even a little early and I will get my grocery shopping under control!

I haven’t written a blog post in quite some time because I just haven’t had the time.  It’s summer, I have a 1 1/2 year old and we are always on the go.  I guess I should say I haven’t found the time or made the time.  That would be a more accurate statement since I have had plenty of time to do other things!

Image

I will talk about FLYlady.net pretty frequently because she is the one who I feel will help me get my house in order.  We’ve been living here for a few months now and I needed to get into a household routine.  I found her while we were staying with my husband’s parents.  Sounds crazy, but she has you start with simply Shining Your Sink (keeping your sink clean).  She teaches you how to build routines and stick to them.  For anyone out there who is great at keeping their house in order, you already have your routines and probably don’t understand people like me who can’t figure it out!  But maybe soon, I too can be like you!

For our family, dinner time is really important.  It’s the only time our whole family can sit down together and really enjoy each other.  I am at home with Jackson all day while my husband works so when he gets here in the evenings I want to have a nice meal prepared for him to enjoy and be able to relax.  Well.. our house isn’t like this even half the time.  Most of the time, Jackson is tired and cranky, I am trying to finish dinner while he is tugging on my leg, and getting frustrated that my husband isn’t helping me enough.  Just a few weeks ago I thought that dinner time was the worst part of the day.

I can always count on my mom to be such a great encourager even if she tells me what I don’t always want to hear.  I called her about my dinner dilemma and she instantly diagnosed the problem… ME.  Isn’t it always though, lol.  I didn’t have a plan for dinner and was throwing stuff together at the last minute.  (Can’t do that with a toddler!)  I hadn’t given Jackson his afternoon nap like I should have.  (Sometimes I just think he can make it…not so!) So if you don’t have a mom like mine, it is so important to find someone who loves you enough to be completely honest with you.  Maybe it’s a grandmother, sister, friend, neighbor, whoever it is, find them and treasure them.

So, tonight I began doing some googling on Meal Planning.  The first website I went to was Simple Mom and her basic meal planning post.  She suggests making a plan for 2 weeks worth of meals and rotating them at least once throughout the month.  Also only go to the grocery store every two weeks.  As I said at the beginning of the post, I hate grocery shopping.  I think it’s because I don’t really have a plan and I end up spending way more money than I should and we end up throwing things away or it just sits in my pantry.

Well sorry for such a long post but I wanted to get back into blogging and I just had so much to say.  I think that’s why I haven’t been writing.  I end up writing such a long post that it takes me forever.  By writing more frequently I “should” have shorter posts.  Thank you so much for reading.  Have a great night!

Image

About theblackberrypatch

I am Evan's wife and Jackson's mom. I am a lover of all cooking, sewing, and crafting. I love learning new things and showing others how to do it as well. I am a follower of Jesus Christ and so thankful he died to cover my sins.

One response to “Do you ever fee…

  1. Leah Lee

    First of all I want to tell you how I enjoyed this post. I like when people are this honest but I hate to be this honest to others about myself.
    I am so excited that you are expecting another blessing from God.
    And yes, I agree with your Mom. Your dinner problem is yourself. At least now that you know what it is you can work on it and soon it will be better. Count yourself blessed to have a wise and loving Mom like this. I have a Mom like that as well and she has been a huge help with all her good advice. I miss not having her around, I still feel like I need her. Crock pots and casseroles are a great way to have yummy dinners without the “last minute preparations” stress. Set the table before you start dinner and prepare everything ahead of time that you can when making a meal that takes a lot of attention the last minute.
    The bigger the family the more important to be organized with room for flexability. With children, never schedule yourself so full that when the unexpected comes up (as it will) that it ruins the day and your joy.
    As much as I hate the saying “when Mommas not happy nobody is happy” I still know it’s true.
    I also learned that I spend alot less time and money if I only grocery shop every 2 weeks, have a plan, a list and a budget. (we have the Dave Ramsey envelope system) I usually try and not spend my whole budget on my shopping day because some things do come up usually that got missed or come up unexpectedly.
    Now I am going to be honest. I enjoy WASHING laundry and hanging it out but I procrastinate when it comes to folding. I hate folding laundry.

Leave a Reply

